Movie in the Making for The Girls from Ames

UNC cancer patient Angela Bendorf Jamison is one of the women featured in Jeff Zaslow’s The Girls from Ames Icon indicating that a link will open an external site., a book about the 40-year friendship of 11 women who grew up in the Midwest but now live in eight different states.

The book climbed to No. 3 on the New York Times Best Seller’s List when it was published in April 2009 and was named by People magazine as one of the Top Ten Books of the Year for 2009. In August 2010, it was awarded a 2010 Midwest Booksellers’ Choice Award in the nonfiction category.

A movie script based on the book is now being written by a woman who was a writer for AMC’s Mad Men series . The movie will be shown on the Lifetime Movie Network.

A paperback version of the book was released in 2010, in which author Jeff Zaslow added a 15-page afterword that includes updates about all the girls. In his excerpt about Angela, he wrote:  Because her cancer is very aggressive, Angela has endured sixteen weeks of chemotherapy and thirty-one radiation treatments. But she feels lucky. Unlike her mother, she was properly diagnosed and treated very quickly. She’s optimistic. Before surgery she was devastated; sad and crying. “But now that it’s over, I realize, you can live through it. It’s not that bad.”

Angela speaks to various groups and book clubs around the country about her cancer journey and how her friends helped her thrive and survive. In November 2010, she will undergo reconstructive surgery at UNC and attributes her UNC team of doctors (Dr. Fran Collichio, Dr. Minq Lee, Dr. David Ollila, and Dr. Eric Halvorsen) to helping her return to her normal routines with family and friends. Read more about Angela.

Angela is pictured on the far right, next to author Jeff Zaslow.







The Ames girls spoke to a women’s group in Portland, Oregon, in May 2010 and met the writer and producers who want to turn the book into a movie for the Lifetime Movie Network.

Angela is pictured on the far right, next to author Jeff Zaslow.